you're reading...
Uncategorized

You did it Dubai.

You did it Dubai.

I had earlier described the awful discriminatory laws of Dubai and expressed extreme disapproval of this place.  Today, I will tell you otherwise.

It was half an hour before sunset on a fine August afternoon (6 months after living in Dubai).  I was browsing a menu in one of the outdoor restaurants that surrounds Dubai Mall. Let me describe to you the ambiance: The scorching sun was soothing down as it hid behind the sky scrapers.  Men, women and children, dressed in their sparkling white thobes, jeans, and super-fashionable abayas, walked past us in their slow, broad shouldered, “proud-to-be-who-I-am” attitude, while radiating their head-turning arabic scents into the moisture-filled air.  Across from the majestic  Dubai Mall stood the Dubai Fountain- a record-setting choreographed fountain system that is set on a 30-acre manmade Burj Khalifa Lake. The fountain is animated with performances set to light and music. It is impressive, but I was never too impressed with their choice of music.

Now, let me tell you something: I am most impressed when someone or something is not trying to impress me.  It was my hundredth time watching the Fountain Dance–there was little scope for anything to impress me.  But I think that day the signals matched.

6:30 pm. I hear loud music. I turn around and the Dubai Fountain is doing its first dance for the evening. “It’s not supposed to start it’s dance now”, I thought to myself.  The music is familiar- “Dhoom Tana”-an Indian song. Something felt right. Something clicked–something was happening that was making me feel wonderful. It was adding up to be a brilliant moment. I don’t know what it was, but I think in that split moment that I made the decision that “I like Dubai” I wanted to encapsulate that moment in a little bottle and keep it with me. I wanted that moment to present itself to me a thousand times over–that exact moment where the bliss of belonging, and the torment of loss collided. It was brilliant.

A decision that was pending for 6 months-I made it in a split second. I just needed the right moment. Damn Dubai, you took me by surprise. I fell for you! By no means am I expressing complete approval of it. But just like you accept a best friend with their good and bad characteristics, I want to accept Dubai for whatever it is. Also, this place now happens to harbor some of my favorite people on this whole planet.


________________________

This was another one of the phenomenal musical/dance performances that caught me by surprise.

About Amena Khan

Thinker | Minimalist | Writer | MBA | Fearless | Always 110% | Global Citizen | Limited Edition | The proof of the pudding is in the eating

Leave a Reply

Amena Khan

Thinker | Minimalist | Writer | Fearless | Always 110% | Global Citizen | Limited Edition |

Hope your encounter with me is an inspirational one.

Amena’s tweets

