you're reading...
Uncategorized

How my rolling Eska Water Bottle caused a flight-or-fight response by my friend

I’ve written about stress and behavior before, but a dear friend’s behavior in class triggered me to revisit this topic.

I carry an aluminum water bottle with me on a daily basis and place it on top of my desk in class. One day, when I was sitting next to Dilani (a dear friend), I shuffled around my seat a bit causing my filled water bottle to topple over, creating a very loud rolling sound. Before I could even react, Dilani was ready. She frantically prepared her hands and her eyes rolled as she tracked the motion of the bottle.  Finally, she caught the bottle like it was a cricket ball in an intense cricket match and then she sighed  with relief, as though she overcame a misfortune. I looked at her for a moment in amusement and wondered how her reflexes acted so fast! I could barely even care. Before I could ask her for an explanation,  she told me how studies have made her stress levels so high, that her fight-or-flight responses have peaked and that I really shouldn’t be letting horrifying things, like bottles rolling off my desk, happen. I thought it was hilarious. I couldn’t help but laugh. Once again, it illustrated how certain experiences lead to different behaviors. You should never judge people, you have no idea where they are coming from.

Also, just wanted to give a shout out to my Eska Water Bottle. I love this bottle and received compliments for it wherever I went.  Its amazing how profit can be derived with a creative presentation of bottled water. Eska water believes that:

ESKA is more than just pure, great tasting water. It’s a miracle of nature. We are committed to protecting this miraculous water and have defined our company’s philosophy, mission and statute of integrity based on this commitment.

Just don’t let your bottle roll off your desk.

About Amena Khan

Thinker | Minimalist | Writer | MBA | Fearless | Always 110% | Global Citizen | Limited Edition | The proof of the pudding is in the eating

Discussion

2 thoughts on “How my rolling Eska Water Bottle caused a flight-or-fight response by my friend

  1. That’s a great story! You are right, we never know where certain reactions are coming from.

    Posted by tweetytab | May 31, 2011, 8:04 pm
  2. I CAN’T BELIEVE I HAVEN’T SEEN THIS TILL NOW!! I’m so honored! Clearly I was stressed for a reason…so that I could catch your bottle & hence star in this awesome blog post. Love it!
    P.s. I also have incredible reflexes because I’m a secret superhero. Clearly we weren’t as close then as we are now so I couldn’t let you in on the identity. But you’ve earned my trust as a true BFF Amena. Love you!

    Posted by Dilani R | March 13, 2013, 10:15 pm

Leave a Reply

Amena Khan

Thinker | Minimalist | Writer | Fearless | Always 110% | Global Citizen | Limited Edition |

Hope your encounter with me is an inspirational one.

Amena’s tweets

