you're reading...
Uncategorized

Matt told me: Its not who you are, its who you are going to be

Through my MBA Program, I’ve been fortunate to have the privilege of learning alongside highly achieved individuals.  Individuals who think larger than life.  When we first started the MBA Program, our Dean (Paul Bates) specifically told us “don’t get intimidated, get inspired” by these individuals. I’ve never forgotten those words.

One of my dearest classmate was a professional football player of the Canadian Football League: Matt O’Meara. Last night when I bumped into Matt, I sincerely requested him for his autograph and said that I want to take a picture with him.  He shied away and pretended like there was no reason for why I should have his autograph. Then he agreed on one condition and he said this:

Matt: Amena, I will give you my autograph and a picture if you give me yours.

Amena: Matt, why in the world would you want my autograph!? Who the heck am I?

Matt: Its not who you are, its who you are going to be.

I was stunned. Who says that? He said it. Wow. Matt O’Meara said that to me!

Before school ends, I will make sure that I get Matt’s autograph. Matt never understood the irony of  the situation: it was not because of who he was, but who he is that made me want his autograph.

About Amena Khan

Thinker | Minimalist | Writer | MBA | Fearless | Always 110% | Global Citizen | Limited Edition | The proof of the pudding is in the eating

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Amena Khan

Thinker | Minimalist | Writer | Fearless | Always 110% | Global Citizen | Limited Edition |

Hope your encounter with me is an inspirational one.

Amena’s tweets

