you're reading...
Uncategorized

Apple Inc. is a boat. There is a hole in the boat.

Last night in my strategy management class, I proudly showed off my Brand Loyalty to Apple.

‘How many of you can see Apple flourishing in the next 10 years?’ asked the Prof.

I proudly raised my hands up high, so eager to make sure that everybody in the class could see me. I wanted everybody to know that I believe in Apple. I believe in Steve Jobs. Then our Prof read us a quotation from Fortune Magazine:

“Apple is a boat. There’s a hole in the boat, and it’s taking on water. But there’s also a treasure on board. And the problem is, everyone on board is rowing in different directions, so the boat is just standing still. Apple has to get everyone rowing in the same direction so they can save the treasure… But what about the hole”

My mouth fell open in surprise, I repeated ‘what about the hole’?

In our lecture last night, I finally learned about how Steve Jobs was one of the three founders of Apple and every time Apple was in trouble, Steve Jobs rescued it, at least that is how it appeared to be. Now the question arises, if the visionary is not there, will Apple flourish. I like to believe it will.

Fortune Magazine named him ‘CEO of the decade’. Did you know that Jobs traveled to India in the 70’s in search of spiritual enlightenment and said that people around him who did not share his counter-cultural roots could not fully relate to his thinking! Oh my. What does that tell you?

I just want to assure Steve Jobs that if there is nobody for Apple on this planet, I will be there. I am thoroughly inspired. Today is a new day.

My problem is that I don’t know if I admire Apple…or Steve Jobs. Would Apple products be a commodity without Steve Job’s presence?

About Amena Khan

Thinker | Minimalist | Writer | MBA | Fearless | Always 110% | Global Citizen | Limited Edition | The proof of the pudding is in the eating

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Apple Inc. is a boat. There is a hole in the boat.

  1. I read that story about Apple being a boat. People do have a child-like obsession with Apple products. I wonder how long it will last.

    Posted by Jay Walker | February 27, 2011, 5:05 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Apple Inc. is a boat. There is a hole in the boat. (via Amena Khan’s Blog) « Amena Khan's Blog - August 26, 2011

Leave a Reply

Amena Khan

Thinker | Minimalist | Writer | Fearless | Always 110% | Global Citizen | Limited Edition |

Hope your encounter with me is an inspirational one.

Amena’s tweets

