you're reading...
Uncategorized

Somebody, please fetch me the tortoise and the hare. I would like to meet them.

You know, Aesop must’ve died hundreds of years ago, yet we continue to pass on his tales. This art of storytelling is so primitive. So real.

The tortoise and the hare taught us that slow and steady wins the race-Aesop got that one so right! I want to meet these characters. I want to meet the tortoise and the hare and ask them how they felt about leaving behind such a legacy.  I’ve lately been reading a lot of fiction and consequently am being introduced to a lot of thoughts that characters hold within themselves-something that would never make itself apparent in a movie, only in a novel. Little thoughts like:

“Seconds plodded by, each separated from the next by an eternity…I was breathing bricks”-Khalid Hosseini, The Kite Runner. Or “the sambar lost its taste”-Yann Martel, Life of Pi.

I think fiction is a fundamental source of how we infuse new ideas into society. Otherwise, how else are you getting your ideas? What kind of dreams are you getting? What and who is your inspiration? Why are people stuck to reality so much? In business school, we are always asked to be on top of what’s going on in the news. That’s good. But nobody asked us to detach ourselves from literature, did they? Movies help expand our minds too. But as I said earlier, books will reveal the inside of a character, they will show us how people think.

About Amena Khan

Thinker | Minimalist | Writer | MBA | Fearless | Always 110% | Global Citizen | Limited Edition | The proof of the pudding is in the eating

Discussion

One thought on “Somebody, please fetch me the tortoise and the hare. I would like to meet them.

  1. Heyyyy…I like fiction! I just don’t have time to read it

    Posted by Ralph Emerson | February 27, 2011, 5:09 am

Leave a Reply

Amena Khan

Thinker | Minimalist | Writer | Fearless | Always 110% | Global Citizen | Limited Edition |

Hope your encounter with me is an inspirational one.

Amena’s tweets

