you're reading...
Uncategorized

Tomatoes and Bananas

I was once walking in to an office for an interview and ran into a good friend, Rohit, who happened to be coming out of that interview. I asked him how his interview went and so he decided to share a thought.

Amena, you know, sometimes when you go for a job interview, you are actually trying to sell tomatoes to an employer” he said.

I listened carefully. I knew he was going to say something interesting.

“But while you are putting your best effort into selling tomatoes, your employer is actually looking to hire a banana”, he continued.

Wow. I thought. Out of all the fruits and vegetables in the world, Rohit decided to use tomatoes and bananas to symbolize our skills sets.

“You can have the best tomatoes in the world, but if your employer wants a banana, they will not buy the tomato, no matter how good it is”. 

I liked Rohit’s story. What strikes me about it is how seriously Rohit narrated it. Rohit is rarely serious. Ever since, I can’t help but think of my resume as a tomato and employers talking about bananas.

Check out Rohit’s blog here.

About Amena Khan

Thinker | Minimalist | Writer | MBA | Fearless | Always 110% | Global Citizen | Limited Edition | The proof of the pudding is in the eating

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Tomatoes and Bananas

  1. awesome and thanks for finding it so interesting that u decided to blog it…

    😉

    so what are u selling this time around? tomatoes or bananas?

    R

    Posted by Rohit | January 31, 2011, 4:48 am
  2. Haha. I only have tomatoes to sell buddy. ..but I will sell my tomato as though it is a banana.

    Posted by Amenaskhan | January 31, 2011, 2:16 pm
  3. I hate bananas….. they’re the worst things on earth

    Posted by Shamiq | February 11, 2011, 6:44 pm

Leave a Reply

Amena Khan

Thinker | Minimalist | Writer | Fearless | Always 110% | Global Citizen | Limited Edition |

Hope your encounter with me is an inspirational one.

Amena’s tweets

