you're reading...
Uncategorized

Old man loved is winter with flowers

A couple weeks ago I was at a large family/friend gathering for lunch. I didn’t really know many people.  While heading out the door, I caught the eye of an elderly lady who seemed to be walking towards me, maybe to say bye. I hesitated a bit. Then as I walked towards her, she said, ” I don’t know when in life we will get to meet again”. With my usual smile I hugged her, but in my mind,  I froze. Usually when someone says something like that, I would try to make them feel better by saying things like “oh, I will drop by to say hi etc.”. This was for real. I was actually never going to meet her again. She just was seeking some company. The entire afternoon she must have been by herself. What do people talk to her about? What does she want? My God, I felt so helpless.

I think, there comes a time in our life when we give up living and eagerly await death. Horrible, I know. Old people mean a lot to me. They say, an old man loved is winter with flowers. These people sometimes crave attention, just like babies do- and in a way, it is our duty to give them the desired attention. Besides, they have so much to learn from-so much wisdom. May God bless that lady. May God bless you and me when we grow old. I hope nobody dies of loneliness.

About Amena Khan

Thinker | Minimalist | Writer | MBA | Fearless | Always 110% | Global Citizen | Limited Edition | The proof of the pudding is in the eating

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Amena Khan

Thinker | Minimalist | Writer | Fearless | Always 110% | Global Citizen | Limited Edition |

Hope your encounter with me is an inspirational one.

Amena’s tweets

