you're reading...
Uncategorized

Tie your camel

A bedouin once asked our Prophet, “Should I tie my camel and have Tawakkul (trust in God for her protection) or should I leave her untied and have Tawakkul.” The Prophet replied, “Tie her and have Tawakkul.” Always tie your camel and then place your trust in God. Do your part first.

Religion is not magic. It is a guide–it teaches you how to think. There are times when I will pray for months or even years to ask God for something and I end up not getting it. When I realize the harsh reality that I am not being granted what I wished for, it is a matter of a split second that I am already dreaming of the wonderful things that God may have lined up for me ahead. When you don’t get something, it is because there is something better waiting for you. Or perhaps, you didn’t get it because it had hidden consequences that you were unaware of. The idea is to keep your faith in God but do not forget to tie your camel (do your part), only then place your trust in God.
Nonetheless, I am a big believer in miracles. I have left my camel untied on numerous occasions. Sometimes miracles do happen. Its that special bond between God and I. I love God.

About Amena Khan

Thinker | Minimalist | Writer | MBA | Fearless | Always 110% | Global Citizen | Limited Edition | The proof of the pudding is in the eating

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Tie your camel

  1. Its hilarious how you’re so obsessed with it. Its tru thou. I agree with it.

    Posted by Nadia Rashid | February 27, 2011, 5:10 am
  2. How true are your observations.

    Posted by Miss Barbara | June 25, 2012, 1:02 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: “Its meant to be”. Nonsense. « Amenaskhan's Blog - August 19, 2010

Leave a Reply

Amena Khan

Thinker | Minimalist | Writer | Fearless | Always 110% | Global Citizen | Limited Edition |

Hope your encounter with me is an inspirational one.

Amena’s tweets

