you're reading...
Uncategorized

“I’m so mean, I make medicine sick. I’m so fast, man, I can run through a hurricane and don’t get wet”

By the man himself, Muhammad Ali. Its a poem about his match with George Foreman, known as the Rumble in the Jungle (1974)

Last night I had a dream, When I got to Africa,

I had one hell of a rumble.
I had to beat Tarzan’s behind first,
For claiming to be King of the Jungle.
For this fight, I’ve wrestled with alligators,
I’ve tussled with a whale.
I done handcuffed lightning
And throw thunder in jail.
You know I’m bad.
just last week, I murdered a rock,
Injured a stone, Hospitalized a brick.
I’m so mean, I make medicine sick.
I’m so fast, man,
I can run through a hurricane and don’t get wet.
When George Foreman meets me,
He’ll pay his debt.
I can drown the drink of water, and kill a dead tree.
Wait till you see Muhammad Ali.

Muhammad Ali was just a plain cool man. Just plain cool.

About Amena Khan

Thinker | Minimalist | Writer | MBA | Fearless | Always 110% | Global Citizen | Limited Edition | The proof of the pudding is in the eating

Discussion

5 thoughts on ““I’m so mean, I make medicine sick. I’m so fast, man, I can run through a hurricane and don’t get wet”

  1. Very nice….. very nice indeed..
    If you don’t mind would you please cite this for me.

    Like your thoughts though.. just plain cool !!

    Posted by Riz | November 4, 2010, 2:01 am
  2. Yeah, his fight with George Foreman was also pictured in the movie Ali.
    Actually, I was looking for the video clip in which Muhammad Ali said this or the book in which this poem was written, in other words, a direct quote.
    But thanks anyways.. :P

    Posted by Riz | November 10, 2010, 5:01 pm
  3. dear friend
    you forgot to mention this.” Last night I cut the light off in my bedroom, hit the switch and was in the bed before the room was dark”

    Posted by Mohammed El-Kacemi | September 1, 2011, 5:42 pm

Leave a Reply

Amena Khan

Thinker | Minimalist | Writer | Fearless | Always 110% | Global Citizen | Limited Edition |

Hope your encounter with me is an inspirational one.

Amena’s tweets

  • Happy Birthday @MkaleeMe !!!! Nobody on this planet carries scrubs the way you do. God bless and may Allah always keep you happy :) 1 month ago
  • Whether I'm smiling or stressing, love is the reason.- @Indemaio 5 months ago
  • It's okay to have your weaknesses, someone's strength will fall in love with them.-@indemaio 5 months ago
  • How could anyone having heard your laugh, not want to be very funny? -@indemaio #beautiful #thought 7 months ago
  • The strongest people I know, show how weak they can be.@indemaio #Me 7 months ago
  • “There's nothing like your mother's sympathetic voice to make you want to burst into tears.” #Ammi #Mother 7 months ago
  • You heal me quicker than the world can bruise. -@indemaio #Ammi 7 months ago
  • Whether or not you agree with me on that, just make sure you know where the country is before you want to bomb it. -@FareedZakaria #syria 7 months ago
  • RT @umairh: Imagine if we had a National Insecurity Agency, that made sure no one went hungry or broke. Instead of a giant spying machine. 7 months ago
  • I always like to come home to somebody. If not humans, then angels it is. 7 months ago
  • There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you. -Maya Angelou 7 months ago
  • RT "@umairh: We've lost what was great in us. Now, we think its an achievement to send billionaires into orbit while humanity starves." 7 months ago
  • "[One day]...she quit teaching reading, writing and arithmetic. Instead, she began to teach children." 7 months ago
  • "Al-Khabeer" is a word derived from “khibrah“ and this means to comprehend & encompass the inner realities and outward realities of things. 7 months ago
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 211 other followers

